Bird in Hand Half Marathon

WP_20150911_003

On Friday, my very sweet and supportive husband drove us up to the quaint little town of Bird in Hand, PA where I checked in for the Saturday morning half marathon.

WP_20150911_001

Even though I got a whoopie pie in my goodie bag, I had to stop by the bakery table and pick up some more.  If you’ve never had a whoopie pie, you are really missing out!

Bird in Hand is very small, so we stayed in nearby Lancaster, which was only 5 miles away and very convenient.  Friday evening, we passed on the pasta dinner offered by the race and instead stayed in Lancaster  for a wonderful meal at The Iron Hill Brewery.  I had something called Jaegerschnitzel which was fabulous.  Marty says I ordered it just so I could say “jaegerschnitzel” 🙂

WP_20150912_002

As I drove into the parking area for the race Saturday morning, I was greeted by a really cool sight, as the hot air balloons were getting set for a pre-race launch.  So beautiful!

I met up with some fabulous Fifty Staters for a pre-race photo and then we lined up for the 7:30 AM start.

bird in hand group2

The course itself is challenging but so picturesque.  Rolling hills through beautiful farmland, and a small dirt road section around mile 10 (uphill, of course!) made this a tough race, but still oh so rewarding.  The volunteer support was outstanding and the kids manning the aid stations were just precious!

bird in hand kids

This is one well-earned medal and so unique- it’s a real horseshoe!

WP_20150912_011

I LOVED everything about this race and highly recommend it.  It is very unique, run by locals and benefits the local fire department, extremely well-supported and everyone I met and talked to was just so NICE!  It was a pleasure to run this race and we had a great weekend!

Leave a comment